Light Trap Hamburg

Light Trap Hamburg 2015 and Light Trap 2018: Temporary Light Installations in the Port of Hamburg – Examining the Impact of the Blue Port on the Diversity of Insects

In biological research light traps are used to make species counts. In the port of Hamburg, the so-called Blue Port is staged every other year in combination with the Cruise Days, an event organized by the Free and Hanseatic City of Hamburg to celebrate the cruise industry. By means of an aggressive light that makes people particularly awake, a contemplative “blue hour” is conjured up for a mass audience. This persistent situation inspired biologist Bernd Reuter and Nana Petzet to investigate the problematic psychoactive effects of the spectacle. They thus developed the idea of building a light trap with identical illuminants, placing it on a ship and exploring the area generally illuminated by Blue Port at night, accompanied by experts on nocturnal insects. Light Trap Hamburg was funded by the programme Art in Public Space of the Hamburg Cultural Authority and took place from Friday, 7 August to Tuesday, 11 August 2015 on the Norderelbe and in Sandtorhafen. On the initiative of the Center of Natural History (CeNak) at the University of Hamburg, a second trial was carried out in the same area on 15 and 16 June 2018, this time as part of the event Langen Tags der StadtNatur. As a result, it could be demonstrated that blue light is highly attractive for nocturnal insects. Light Trap Hamburg understands the current crisis of insects as an epistemic space in which the commodification of the night and biodiversity has become visible and, consequently, as an obligation to search for ways out of this commodification. 1 1 May 2014, the station of the peregrine falcon breeding and research project in Hamburg Duvenstedt 2 Some bat species have adapted to artificial lighting and take advantage of the increased food supply. Most species, however, strictly avoid artificial lighting. 3 Entomological light traps employed during fieldwork, from the study: Gunnar Brehm, A new LED lamp for the collection of nocturnal Lepidoptera and a spectral comparison of light-trapping lamps, published 2017 in Not Lepitopterologica 4 2 August 2014, Blue Port No.4, the reference Blue Port of Light Trap Hamburg viewed from Park Fiction. This is where the opening of Light Trap Hamburg took place one year later. 5 16 Jul 2015, the Light Trap Hamburg team, Nana Petzet, Bernd Reuter and Nina Kalenbach in consultation with Martin Kubiak at the Center of Natural History.
Notes: documentary evidence, identification and numbers of species, butterfly net, ethyl acetate, 70% alcohol, genital structure, dissemination flights, times of main activity, reproduction 6 Attraction effect of different wavelengths on butterflies; the blue spectrum proves to be particularly attractive, from: Gunnar Brehm, A new LED lamp for the collection of nocturnal Lepidoptera and a spectral comparison of light-trapping lamps, published 2017 in Not Lepitopterologica 7 25 May 2015, 00:58, preliminary test at Am Saalehafen 49, Nana Petzet’s studio 8 Technical drawing of the light object 9 10 7 Aug 2015, installation of the trap on the Repsold in the boatyard Heuer in Finkenwerder. The owners of the historical fireboat Repsold not only allowed us to install the octagonal light trap on the boat, but the Repsold team collaborated with us during the entire five-day action. 11 Visitors were also involved in the action and could ride along on the ship or boarded the ship at the berth.

12 Video documentation of the art action Lichtfalle Hamburg, 7 – 11 Aug 2015 13 Henry Tiemann, a lecturer in zoology at the University of Hamburg, coordinated the collection of the voucher specimens and helped to record the experiment. 14 A mayfly (Ephemeroptera) and a caddisfly (Trichoptera) 15 Overview of the voucher specimens gathered during the Light Trap Hamburg action with details of where and when they were collected, compiled by Dr Martin Kubiak 16 The specimens from Light Trap Hamburg have become part of the collection of the Center of Natural History at the University of Hamburg. 17 18 Blue Port No. 5 already took place in September 2015. Lichtfalle Hamburg responded to this event with a call for Blue Port Monitoring. Visitors to the light spectacle were called upon to direct their attention to the insects attracted by the illuminants. 19 We were particularly struck by the many spider webs under the blue fluorescent tubes. While spiders seem to thrive on the excessive use of illuminants, flying insects increasingly become prey. 20 Andromeda Jörg von Prondzinski records his observations on a form. 21 15 Jun 2018, Hans-Georg Losekamm and Otto Nupnau mount the trap on the launch Elsa with the aid of a reach stacker. 22 Route of the Elsa with light trap in the night from 15 to 16 June 2018.

23 Video documentation of the Light Trap Hamburg rides as part of the event Long Day of City Nature / GEO Day of Nature, on 15 and 16 June 2018. 24 Armin Günther, Carolin Uhlir and Fritz Wienecke collect specimens for the sample: 16 June 2018 GEO-Tag, Hamburger Hafen/GEO3, N53°31.450/E009°56.444, light trap sampling leg. T. Zeimet.

Ill. 3, 6, photos: Gunnar Brehm
Ill. 5, 10, 11, 13, 14, 16, 18, 19, 20, 21, 24, photos: Helge Mundt
Ill. 8, chart, 9, photo: Hans-Georg Losekamm
Ill. 12, video, 22 chart, 23, video, photo: Marc Wiebach
pfeil

Lichtfalle Hamburg

Lichtfalle Hamburg 2015 und Lichtfalle 2018: Temporäre Lichtinstallationen im Hamburger Hafen zur Untersuchung der Auswirkungen des Blue Ports auf die Insektenvielfalt

In der biologischen Forschung werden Lichtfallen eingesetzt, um Artenzählungen vorzunehmen. Im Hamburger Hafen wird alle zwei Jahre der Blue Port durchgeführt, in Kombination mit den Cruise Days, einer Veranstaltung der Freien und Hansestadt Hamburg zur Feier der Kreuzfahrtindustrie. Unter Einsatz eines aggressiven Lichts, das besonders wach macht, wird hier einem Massenpublikum eine besinnliche »blaue Stunde« vorgezaubert. Für den Biologen Bernd Reuter und Nana Petzet Anlass, der problematischen psychoaktiven Wirkung dieses Spektakels nachzugehen. Es entstand die Idee unter Verwendung identischer Leuchtmittel eine Lichtfalle zu bauen, diese auf einem Schiff zu postieren und begleitet von Kennern nachtaktiver Insekten das beim Blue Port illuminierte Gebiet nachts zu erforschen. Lichtfalle Hamburg wurde im Rahmen des Programms Kunst im öffentlichen Raum der Kulturbehörde Hamburg gefördert und fand von Freitag 7. August bis Dienstag 11. August 2015 auf der Norderelbe und im Sandtorhafen statt. Auf Initiative des Centrums für Naturkunde der Universität Hamburg wurde am 15. und 16. Juni 2018 ein zweiter Versuch im selben Gebiet durchgeführt, diesmal im Rahmen des „Langen Tags der StadtNatur". Bei allen Fahrten ließ sich die hohe Attraktivität des blauen Lichts für nachtaktive Insekten nachweisen. Lichtfalle Hamburg begreift die aktuelle Krise der Insekten als epistemischen Raum, in dem die Warenförmigkeit der Nacht und der Biodiversität sichtbar wird und als Verpflichtung nach Auswegen aus diesem Warendenken zu suchen. 1 01.05.2014, die Station des Wanderfalken-Zucht- und Forschungsprojekts in Hamburg Duvenstedt 2 Manche Fledermausarten haben sich an künstliche Beleuchtung angepasst und nutzen das erhöhte Nahrungsangebot. Die meisten meiden künstliche Beleuchtung jedoch konsequent. 3 Entomologische Lichtfallen im Einsatz bei der Feldarbeit, aus: Gunnar Brehm, A new LED lamp for the collection of nocturnal Lepidoptera and a spectral comparision of light-trapping lamps, veröffentlicht 2017 in Not Lepitopterologica 4 02.08.2014, Blue Port Nr.4, der Referenz-Blue Port von Lichtfalle Hamburg von Park Fiction aus betrachtet. Hier fand ein Jahr später die Eröffnung von Lichtfalle Hamburg statt 5 16.Juli.2015, das Lichtfalle Hamburg-Team, Nana Petzet, Bernd Reuter und Nina Kalenbach beim Beratungsgespräch mit Martin Kubiak im Centrum für Naturkunde.
Stichworte aus den Notizen: Belegmaterial/Stücke, Artenbestimmung, Schmetterlingsnetz, Ethylacetat, 70%Alkohol, Genitalstruktur, Verbreitungsflüge, Hauptaktivitätszeit, Fortpflanzung 6 Anlockwirkung verschiedener Wellenlängen auf Schmetterlinge, das blaue Spektrum erweist sich als besonders attraktiv, aus: Gunnar Brehm, A new LED lamp for the collection of nocturnal Lepidoptera and a spectral comparision of light-trapping lamps, veröffentlicht 2017 in Not Lepitopterologica 7 25.Mai 2015, 00:58, Vorversuch Am Saalehafen 49, Atelier Nana Petzet 8 Technische Zeichnung des Leuchtobjekts 9 10 7.8.2015, Installation der Falle auf der Repsold in der Werft Heuer in Finkenwerder. Der Eigentümerverein des historischen Feuerschiffs Repsold stellte uns sowohl das Boot wie auch die Besatzung für die gesamte Aktion zur Verfügung. 11 Beteiligt an der Aktion waren auch Besucher, die auf dem Schiff mitfahren konnten oder am Liegeplatz auf das Schiff kamen.

12 Videodokumentation der Kunstaktion Lichtfalle Hamburg, 07. - 11.08.2015 13 Der Dozent für Zoologie der Universität Hamburg Henry Tiemann koordinierte das Einsammeln der Belegexemplare und half beim Protokollieren des Versuchs 14 Eine Eintagsfliege (Ephemeroptera) und eine Köcherfliege (Trichoptera) 15 Übersicht der während der Aktion Lichtfalle Hamburg entnommenen Belegtiere mit Angabe des Fundortes sowie des Datums, erstellt von Dr. Martin Kubiak 16 Die Fänge von Lichtfalle Hamburg sind in die Sammlung des Centrums für Naturkunde der Universität Hamburg eingegangen 17 18 Blue Port Nr. 5 fand bereits im September 2015 statt. Lichtfalle Hamburg reagierte auf dieses Ereignis mit einem Aufruf zum Blue Port Monitoring. Die Besucher des Lichtspektakels wurden dazu aufgerufen, ihr Augenmerk auf die durch die Leuchtmittel angezogenen Insekten zu richten. 19 Vor allem die vielen Spinnennetze unter den blauen Leuchtstoffröhren fielen uns auf. Die Brückenspinnen scheinen bei dem verstärkten Einsatz der Leuchtmittel prächtig zu gedeihen, während Fluginsekten entsprechend vermehrt zur Beute werden. 20 Andromeda Jörg von Prondzinski trägt seine Beobachtungen in ein Formblatt ein. 21 15.06.2018, die Falle wird mit einem Reach Stacker von Hans-Georg Losekamm und Otto Nupnau auf der Barkasse Elsa montiert. 22 Route der Elsa mit Lichtfalle in der Nacht vom 15.6. auf den 16.6. 2018.

23 Videodokumentation Fahrten Lichtfalle Hamburg als Teil der Veranstaltung „Langer Tag der StadtNatur / GEO-Tag der Natur“, 15. und 16.06.2018 24 Armin Günther, Carolin Uhlir und Fritz Wienecke sammeln Belegexemplare für die Probe: 16.06.2018 GEO-Tag, Hamburger Hafen/GEO3, N53°31.450/E009°56.444, Lichtfangleg. T. Zeimet.

Abb. 3, 6, Foto: Gunnar Brehm
Abb. 5, 10, 11, 13, 14, 16, 18, 19, 20, 21, 24, Foto: Helge Mundt
Abb. 8 Grafik, 9 Foto: Hans-Georg Losekamm
Abb. 12 Video, 22 Grafik, 23 Video, Foto: Marc Wiebach
pfeil