Antinomic Biotope

The idea for the Antinomic Biotope was developed in collaboration with the Galerie für Landschaftskunst, as a part of the project Four Proposals for the Port of Hamburg on the Basis of the IBP – Integrated Management Plan Elbe Estuary, Released in 2012 by the Free and Hanseatic City of Hamburg / State Ministry for Urban Development and the Environment, the State of Lower Saxony / Lower Saxony Water Management, Coastal Defence and Nature Conservation Agency, the State of Schleswig-Holstein / Ministry of Agriculture, the Environment and Rural Areas, the Waterways and Shipping Directorate North and the Hamburg Port Authority.

1

Ecological compensation measures in the port of Hamburg are generally marked by contradiction, because the habitat needs of the self-developing animal and plant worlds were not considered in the scope of the technical designing of the area. Any kind of autonomous development has been systematically halted, resulting in an environment hostile to life, especially for aquatic species. Here, there is neither the space nor the time for the self-recovery of nature. It is for this reason that the ecological compensation measures must be of a technical nature. The artwork Antinomic Biotope picks up on this fundamental contradiction in multiple ways.

The Antinomic Biotope, a floating dune and shallow water combination, explores the topic of the substrate sand as a habitat. Sandy shallow water zones in a river bed that does not fall dry and dunes on the shore are valuable types of habitats, which at one time were a common phenomenon in the Hamburg port area, but today exist only rudimentarily. The landscape elements of the dune and shallow water zone are featured on two levels in an installation: on top of a ponton there is a dune, hanging underneath it a floating riverbed. The installation is autonomous and mobile, and by altering the location it can adapt to the requirements of an environment geared toward the laws of the port industries. Both in the dune and in the shallow water components of the Antinomic Biotope, sand deriving from Hamburg’s sediment-processing plant METHA could be used. When one observes the model of the Antinomic Biotope in its entirety, then the most obvious inherent contradiction becomes apparent: the combination of the areas above and under water. Under natural circumstances, where there is a dune there cannot be a shallow water zone underneath. Here, it is the idea of having as much habitat as possible on the smallest possible surface area that takes centre stage. This, consequently, requires a considerable amount of additional technical effort. The shallow water zone, for example, is shaded by the dune and must therefore by supplied with artificial daylight.


2
3
4 Explanatory panel in the Chemnitz Botanical Garden on the structure of dunes

The two conceived areas are each inherently contradictory, as well. A dune is a dynamic landscape element that would develop on the shore of an estuary based on the interplay of the current, wind, sand and plants, if this were not inhibited by the interference of human regulatory measures. Dunes don’t float. Though they are mobile, in a sense, they move very gradually and not necessarily to places humans want them to be. On the delimited green area surrounded by water, the nomadic dune becomes sedentary of necessity, as it were. Erosion is artificially compensated and sand is regularly replenished. The herbaceous vegetation which, in natural succession, would lead to the development of a grey dune and thus to a relatively stabile formation must be cultivated, maintained and certain weeds removed. In order to create a habitat in which the right plants can thrive and which provides a refuge for rare locusts and butterflies, the blue-winged grasshopper, for example, an excessive input of nutrients must be avoided and, above all, a well-functioning drainage system must be installed. Here, the dialectic of control and self-development becomes apparent, which is inevitable when it comes to constructing a technical biotope in a technology-based environment. Without humans, nothing thrives, nothing grows here, which is why in botanical gardens, for instance, one would speak more of the representation of plant societies than the establishment of biotopes.

5 Source: Heinz Ellenberg “Vegetation Mitteleuropas mit den Alpen“
6 A weedy grey dune is re-established and provided with a rhizome barrier, Chemnitz Botanical Garden, 29 April 2019

Even more difficult than the installation of the land component is the technical construction of the underwater area. Here, a shallow water zone with oxygen-rich water and pure sand, a habitat for fish that like current and spawn in places like these. The floating riverbed is conceived as an area of refuge and recovery for fish that need to traverse the port area on their way from the upper reaches of the Elbe, via the Tideelbe (Tidal Elbe) to the North Sea. The shallow water area needs to function independent of the tidal range and must not fall dry. This is given through its fixed attachment under the float of the sandbank. The entire installation is flexibly mounted to mooring posts. Despite the three metres of tidal range at the docking point, the distance of the artificial riverbed to the water surface remains the same. Yet mounting it underneath the sandbank not only has the disadvantage of shading. The tub in which the substrate lies preferably must prevent the sand from being washed away; however, the installation must be easily accessible and inviting for fish. Another technically sophisticated aspect is the task of hindering sediments from depositing, because: the natural opponent of sand in the port area is silt. The past operations of deepening of the Elbe have led to an enhanced tidal range. As a result, suspended matter settles on the riverbed, increasing the siltation process. Counteracting this through marine turbines installed in the direction of the current that maintain the current and thus inhibit sedimentation whenever required, is a conceivable strategy.

7 Sandy shallow water zone, source: Feasibility study “Schwimmende Landschaften”, STUDIO URBANE LANDSCHAFTEN
8 Resting zone and spawning ground for fish in the underwater area of the Antinomic Biotope 9 An interesting location for the Antinomic Biotope is the Ellerholzhafen in Hamburg, where it could interact with dry habitats on the shore. 10 The Antinomic Biotope could complete the substrate cycle (silt, sand) in Hamburg harbour.

Ill. 7, photo: Katarina Bajc
Ill. 9, photo: Till Krause
pfeil

Die Idee zu Antinomic Biotope entstand in Zusammenarbeit mit der Galerie für Landschaftskunst und ist Teil des Projekts Vier Vorschläge für den Hamburger Hafen auf Grundlage des IBP – Integrierter Bewirtschaftungsplan Elbeästuar, herausgegeben 2012 von der Freien und Hansestadt Hamburg / Behörde für Stadtentwicklung und Umwelt, dem Land Niedersachsen / Niedersächsischer Landesbetrieb für Wasserwirtschaft, Küsten- und Naturschutz, dem Land Schleswig-Holstein / Ministerium für Landwirtschaft, Umwelt und ländliche Räume, der Wasser- und Schifffahrtsdirektion Nord und der Hamburg Port Authority.

1

Ökologische Ausgleichsmaßnahmen im Hamburger Hafen sind grundsätzlich von Widersprüchen gekennzeichnet, denn bei der technischen Durchgestaltung des Gebietes wurden die Lebensraumansprüche der sich selbst entwickelnden Tier- und Pflanzenwelt nicht berücksichtigt. Jede Art der Selbstentwicklung wurde systematisch unterbunden, wodurch besonders für die Wasserlebewesen eine lebensfeindliche Umgebung entstanden ist. Für eine Selbstheilung der Natur ist hier weder der Raum noch die Zeit. Deshalb müssen die ökologischen Ausgleichsmaßnahmen technischer Natur sein. Diese grundlegende Widersprüchlichkeit nimmt das Kunstwerk Antinomic Biotope in vielfältiger Weise auf.

Das Antinomic Biotope, eine schwimmende Düne-Flachwasser-Kombination, thematisiert das Substrat Sand als Lebensraum. Ein nicht trockenfallender, sandiger Flachwasserbereich im Flussbett sowie Dünen am Ufer sind wertvolle Habitattypen, die früher vielfältig im Hamburger Hafengebiet vorhanden waren, heute dort jedoch nur noch rudimentär erhalten sind. Die Landschaftselemente Düne und Flachwasserbereich werden in einer Anlage auf zwei Ebenen dargestellt: Oben auf einem Ponton eine Düne, darunter hängend ein schwimmendes Flussbett. Die Anlage ist autonom und mobil und kann sich durch Standortwechsel den Erfordernissen einer an den Gesetzen der Hafenwirtschaft ausgerichteten Umwelt anpassen. Sowohl im Dünen- als auch im Flachwasserbereich des Antinomic Biotope könnte Sand aus der Hamburger METHA zum Einsatz kommen. Betrachtet man das Modell Antinomic Biotope in seiner Gesamtheit, ergibt sich der offensichtlichste inhärente Widerspruch aus der Kombination des Überwasser und des Unterwasserbereichs. Wo natürlicherweise eine Düne ist, kann sich nicht darunter eine Flachwasserzone befinden. Hier steht der Gedanke im Vordergrund, möglichst viel Habitat auf möglichst geringer Fläche unterzubringen. Die Folge ist ein erheblicher technischer Mehraufwand. Beispielsweise wird der Flachwasserbereich durch die Düne verschattet und muss deshalb künstlich mit Tageslicht versorgt werden.


2
3
4 Erklärungstafel im Botanischen Garten Chemnitz zum Dünenaufbau

Die beiden konzipierten Bereiche sind jeweils auch in sich widersprüchlich. Eine Düne ist ein dynamisches Landschaftselement, das sich am Ufer des Ästuars durch ein Zusammenspiel von Strömung, Wind, Sand und Pflanzen entwickeln würde, wenn dies nicht durch menschliche Regulierungsmaßnahmen verhindert würde. Dünen können nicht schwimmen. In gewisser Weise sind sie zwar mobil, sie bewegen sich jedoch sehr langsam und nicht unbedingt dorthin, wo der Mensch sie haben will. Auf der begrenzten und von Wasser umgebenen Grundfläche wird die nomadische Düne gezwungenermaßen sesshaft. Erosion wird ausgeglichen und Sand wird regelmäßig nachgeliefert. Die Vegetation, die in der natürlichen Sukzession zur Bildung einer Graudüne und damit zu einer relativ stabilen Formation führen würde, muss eigens angesiedelt, gepflegt und ausgekrautet werden. Damit sich die richtigen Pflanzen hier wohlfühlen und ein Lebensraum für seltene Heuschrecken und Schmetterlinge wie zum Beispiel die blauflügelige Ödlandschrecke entstehen kann, muss ein zu starker Nährstoffeintrag verhindert und vor allem für eine gut funktionierende Drainage gesorgt werden. Hier zeigt sich die Dialektik von Kontrolle und Selbstentwicklung, die beim technischen Biotopbau in einer technisierten Umwelt unvermeidlich ist. Ohne den Menschen geht hier gar nichts, weshalb in botanischen Gärten eher von der Darstellung von Pflanzengesellschaften gesprochen wird als von der Anlage von Biotopen.

5 Quelle: Heinz Ellenberg „Vegetation Mitteleuropas mit den Alpen“
6 Eine verkrautete Graudüne wird neu aufgebaut und mit einer Rhizomsperre versehen, Botanischer Garten Chemnitz, 29.04.2019

Noch schwieriger als die Installation des Landbereichs ist die technische Konstruktion des Unterwasserbereichs. Hier soll eine Flachwasserzone mit sauerstoffreichem Wasser und reinem Sand entstehen, ein Habitat für Fische, die Strömung mögen und an Orten wie diesem laichen. Das schwimmende Flussbett ist als Rückzugs- und Erholungsgebiet für Fische gedacht, die auf ihrem Weg vom Oberlauf der Elbe, über die Tideelbe bis in die Nordsee das Hafengebiet durchqueren müssen. Der Flachwasserbereich muss unabhängig vom Tidenhub funktionieren und darf nicht trockenfallen. Das ist durch die feste Montage unter dem Schwimmkörper der Sandbank gegeben. Die gesamte Anlage ist beweglich an Dalben befestigt. Trotz der drei Meter Tidenhub an der Anlegestelle bleibt so der Abstand des künstlichen Flussbetts zur Wasseroberfläche gleich. Die Montage unterhalb der Sandbank hat aber nicht nur den Nachteil der Verschattung. Die Wanne, in der das Substrat liegt, muss möglichst das Wegschwemmen des Substrats verhindern, gleichzeitig muss die Anlage jedoch für die Fische gut zugänglich und einladend sein. Technisch besonders anspruchsvoll ist zudem die Verhinderung der Ablagerung von Sedimenten, denn: Der natürliche Gegenspieler des Sandes im Hafengebiet ist der Schlick. Die bisherigen Elbvertiefungen haben zu stärkerem Tidenhub geführt. Deshalb setzen sich die Schwebstoffe des Flusses am Grund ab. Die Verschlickung beschleunigt sich. Eine Gegensteuerung durch in Strömungsrichtung angebrachte Schiffsturbinen, die bei Bedarf die Strömung aufrechterhalten und so die Sedimentierung unterbinden, ist denkbar.

7 Sandige Flachwasserzone, Quelle: Machbarkeitsstudie "Schwimmende Landschaften", STUDIO URBANE LANDSCHAFTEN
8 Ruhezone und Laichgrund für Fische im Unterwasserbereich des Antinomic Biotope 9 Ein interessanter Ort für das Antinomic Biotope ist der Ellerholzhafen in Hamburg, wo es in eine Wechselbeziehung mit Trockenhabitaten am Ufer treten könnte. 10 Das Antinomic Biotope könnte den Substratkreislauf (Schlick, Sand) im Hamburger Hafen schließen.

Abb. 7, Foto: Katarina Bajc
Abb. 9, Foto: Till Krause
pfeil